The Important dignitaries and personalities


(Politicians, Professionals, Poets, Government and private sectors high Officials, Freedom

Fighters, Journalists & others)

Kulaura has a glorious past in the field of literature, journalism and politics. The first of the two graduates of the whole Moulvibazar district was from village Deogaon. Mr. Ahmedullah EAC and his son Mr. Altaf Hussein was a famous journalist in the then India, later became a central minister of Pakistan. Two famous sons of this Upazila, Mr. Abdul Majid B.A.B.T and Mr. Purnendu Sengupta were sent to the prison for their roles in Khelafat and Non-cooperation movements. Many other famous personalities belonging to this Upazila for their different roles are as follows:


Syed Badrul Hussein Commander of national guards of Assam was from village Kuala. Khan Bahadur Tozammul Ali Chowdhury was from village Gazipur (Kanihati) became the first Muslim Deputy Commissioner of the whole province of Assam. He was a descendent of the great saint Hazrat Shah Helimuddin (RA). His nephew Abdur Rouf Choudhury was a secretary of East Pakistan. Abdul Muntakim Choudhury- a barrister at law, son of Late Tozammul Ali Choudhury served as Ambassador of Bangladesh to many countries. Mr. Muhibus Samad was MLA and the Treasurer of the Pakistan Awami League. Many successful people of Kulaura are serving as high officials of Bangladesh. They are: Syed Mesbahuddin- Justice in the high court, Azizus Samad- former Chairman of Jiban Bima corporation. Dr. Abdul Majid, Abdul Mumin Chowdhury- Ambassador, Abdul Muyeed Chowdhury- Chairman, NBR, A.H.M Mufazzal Karim- Secretary, Abdur Rahim Chowdhury- Secretary, and other important dignitaries and personalities are former MP Advocate ANM Yusuf, former MP Abdul Jabbar, Tufael A. Chowdhury, Alaur R. Chowdhury AFM Yahia Chowdhury, Amiangsu Sen, Abdul Gani, Aftabudin Ahmed, Professor M.A.Majid, Molla Abdul Gani, Ali Safdar Khan, Ali Asgar Khan, Abdul Mannan Chowdhury, Syed Muhibun-nur, Abdul Khalique, Syed Akmal Hussein, Ali Sarwar Khan, Abdus Subhan Jalalabadi, Dr. Aktharuddin Ahmed, Munshi Sadek Hussein, Abdul Qayum, Moulvi Abdul Ali, Syed Mofizunun Chowdhury, Khitish C. Bhattacharya, Syed Rezaur Rahman Chowdhury, Abdul Wahab Chowdhury, Munshi Miazan Ali, Ramandra C. Chowdhury, Abdul Muyeed Chowdhury ( Bhatera), Dharika N. Chowdhury, Dr. Shafaet Ali, Hasanat Karim, Anwar Hussein, Ajmal Hussein, W. Chowdhury, Monir Uddin Ahmed, Mobin Uddin Chowdhury, Azir Uddin, Ikbal Ahmed Chowdhury, Brig.Syed Abdur Rab, AKM Najmujjaman, Col. Jiauddin, Abdul Matin Chowdhury, Prof. Dr. Abdul Hannan, Showkat Osman, Abdus Shahid, Prof. Sunimal Kumar Deb, Nabin Chandra Roy, Krishna C. Das, Mahtabuddin, Humayun B.Chowdhury, former MP Ali Abbas Khan, former MP MM Shahin, Mofizuddin Ahmed, Haji Badruddin, Mukimuddin Ahmed, Syed Jamaluudin, Rakib Ali, Abdul Kalik Chowdhury, Muktadir Chowdhury, Siddik Ali Chowdhury, Abdur Rahim, AKM Yusuf, Tofazzul Hussein Chowdhury, Abdus Salam Khan, Syed Ershad Ali, Md. Doros, Haji Abdul Bari, Abdus salam, Abdul Jabbar, Alauddin Ahmed, Abdur Rahman Chowdhury, Abdul Khalik, Wasi Chowdhury, Tayebuddin Ahmed, Ajmatullah, Mohiuddin Hussein, Satya Ranjan Dey, Abdul Quddus Chowdhury, Watir Ali, Nousha Miah, Dipendranath Datta, Abdul Hannan, Abdul Wahid, Syed Rahatur Rahman, Yakub Ali, Najib Ali, Abdul Moin Chowdhury, Akandas Ali, Kalindar Roy, Giasuddin Chowdhury, Mahmud ali, Abdul Hannan Chowdhury, Haji Basiruddin Ahmed, Kamarudin Ahmed, Abdul Hasib.


Shaheed Freedom Fighters: Md. Jahir Miah, Abdul Ali, Md. Yanoor Ali, Md. Ataur Rahman, Askar Ali, Rakib Ali, Drub Ranjan Dey, Abdul Malik, Shukur Ullah, Abdus Shahid, Abdur Rahim Chowdhury, Ibrahim Ali, Aslam Ali Shah, Abdul Hye, Arju Miah, Siraj Miah, Abdun Noor, Shogir Miah, Sitesh C. Dey, Kumud Ranjan, Basir Miah.


We acknowledge thankfully the names of personalities and dignitaries of all categories missing in the above list. Please contact with name and contribution in the respective field to:, Thanks.